Justice Division to Monitor 64 Voting Jurisdictions in 24 States

After President Joe Biden attacked state election reforms and asserted, “democracy is on the poll,” his administration’s Justice Division introduced Monday that it could be sending election observers to 24 states. 

These embrace Georgia, Texas, Arizona, Florida and different states that applied election integrity measures Biden and different Democrats have characterised as “Jim Crow 2.0.” 

The Justice Division officers may also be in a number of  battleground states with closely-contested races equivalent to Michigan, North Carolina, Nevada, New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania.

“The Justice Division introduced right this moment its plans to watch compliance with federal voting rights legal guidelines in 64 jurisdictions in 24 states for the Nov. 8, 2022 normal election. Because the passage of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, the Civil Rights Division has often monitored elections within the area in jurisdictions across the nation to guard the rights of voters,” the Justice Division introduced in a press launch on Monday. “The Civil Rights Division may also take complaints from the general public nationwide concerning potential violations of the federal voting rights legal guidelines via its name middle.”

The DOJ can be monitoring Alaska, California, Massachusetts, Maryland, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New Mexico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin. 

In 2021, the Justice Division launched lawsuits in opposition to the states of Arizona, Georgia and Texas alleging that the states’ new election reform legal guidelines would result in voter suppression. The division has lately resisted publicly releasing its strategic plan for implementing a Biden govt order to spice up voter particiation.

See also  Abortion ‘Sanctuary’ States Pose Grave Dangers to Susceptible Girls

In Arizona, Justice Division screens shall be in Maricopa County, Navajo County, Pima County, Pinal County, and Yavapai County. 

In Georgia, Justice Division screens shall be in Cobb County, Fulton County and Gwinnett County. 

In Texas, Justice Division screens shall be in Dallas County, Harris County, and Waller County.